{Musings of Dan Poblocki, Author/ Weirdo}

Bio: Dan Poblocki was born in Rhode Island and currently lives and works in Brooklyn, NY.

He is the author of The Stone Child, The Nightmarys, The Ghost of Graylock, and The Mysterious Four series. The Book of Bad Things is forthcoming: Aug 28, 2014.

Dan loves reading and writing, playing video games, eating cupcakes, snuggling with his cats - Pedro and Tavi - and telling ghost stories late at night to anyone who'll listen.

Dan hates doing laundry, cleaning his apartment, riding on crowded subway trains, and people who honk car horns excessively.

(Painting by John Brosio)

Today is the day! THE BOOK OF BAD THINGS is now available wherever books are sold. Pick one up and let me know what you think!!!

I took a trip up to Quabbin Reservoir in central Massachusetts today for some inspiration for an upcoming project. I was fascinated by the history of the landscape: four towns (Enfield, Dana, Greenwich, and Prescott) were disincorporated in the 1930s so that the land could be flooded. Despite the breathtaking scenery, there was something so sad and creepy about the lake and its islands - imagining all the living that had once taken place along the many streets that were now under 90 feet of water. It’s all very surreal, and it makes me wonder about the tenuous place we each hold in our own communities, big and small. Today, I found more proof that nothing lasts forever.

World's Most Haunted Forests

Click on the title text to go to a slideshow about the world’s most haunted forests!!! Spooky inspiration for fans of The Stone Child, The Haunting of Gabriel Ashe, and my newest book, The Book of Bad Things…

Look what arrived this morning! First hardcover copies of my latest - The Book of Bad Things. If you like your ghost stories with a splash of zombies a dollop of deadly curses, and a side of malevolent hoarders, this is the book for you! It comes out August 28, 2014! I’m very excited to share it with you!
This is so very true. 

This is so very true. 

Best Horror Books for Kids (a list)

Click on the text above to view a list of great scary books for middle-grade readers, including my first book, The Stone Child!

Kentucky Bluegrass Award

Hey! Guess what? The Ghost of Graylock won the 2014 Kentucky Bluegrass Award for grades 6-8! I feel so honored! Thank you, Kentucky readers! (click on the text to go to the link.)

How to make an Audio Book, with Libba Bray

I make a brief appearance as a delivery boy. This was fun! (click on the text to go to the video.)

What a cool day! Just came home to find copies of the new paperback edition of Ghost of Graylock. It’s out this summer, part of a collection called HAUNTINGS from Scholastic Press.
Here I am dressed as a hobo clown for Halloween. I was probably 8 or 9 years old. Ha.